Press Release: UPZ (soWHAT Records) Releases His NEW Album , “Drop It”!

Coming out this Friday 27th October, internationally renowned producer UPZ that brought us Mzansi classics Pure Surprise,
Uzongilinda, Believing & What’s The Point plus collabs with Black Motion, Cuebur, Black Coffee and more, returns with a
brand new album titled ‘Drop It’ with track features incl. Sió, BlackwHole, Thantaswa, Mariechan, Proverb, Pearl, Lifford,
Chris Rouse, Shantéh, Obi Sanaa & Jocelyn Mathieu.

Now on Itunes (Pre-order)

Drop It, the new album by UPZ, marks a step forward in the music direction of the South African/Israeli producer & DJ. Not
content with the tried & trusted, UPZ experiments and ventures into new sonic avenues whilst continuously extending his
collaboration tentacles. House music textures may lay the foundation of the album, but UPZ is not shy to explore the
different terrains within the genre; from afro house beats to fusing elements of soul, hip hop, nu disco and Jamaican dub.
Most apparent when listening to Drop It is UPZ’s penchant for vocals and songwriting; the album sees him collaborating
with both well known & up-coming artists from South Africa and abroad…BlackwHole, Lifford, Proverb, Mariechan (Jamali),
Jocelyn Mathieu, Siò, Thantaswa, Pearl, Shanteh, Obi Sanaa and Chris Rouse.

Beyond the mere exploration of universal themes of love, relationships and the “feel-good”, ‘Drop It’ fnds UPZ and co
lyrically tap into topics of social relevance & mystique specifcally with tracks like Drop It (feat Thantaswa), Sangoma’s
Theme (feat Lifford), And In Time (with BlackwHole) and A Dream Away (with Siò, award winning vocalist of 1000 memories
with Julian Gomes). Concurrently UPZ crafts his production with the dance-foor in mind, with plenty of groove appeal
throughout. Disco Girl & Magic With You explore nu disco sonic aesthetics, whilst Take Me Away (feat Shanteh),
Unbreakable (with Pearl) and Say What U Want (feat Mariechan & Proverb) convey afro-soul infuenced rhythms.

2017 is a milestone in that it marks UPZ’s 10th anniversary. UPZ’s 2007 self titled debut (Japan, Rambling Records) featured
his breakout single “Pure Surprise” which secured him a no.1 hit in South African in 2009. In 2012 UPZ’s album “Pioneers of
House: UPZ” (Soul Candi) included production collaborations with Black Coffee, Black Motion & Qness. Support for UPZ
productions have poured in from leading DJs including Fresh, Euphonic, Vinny Da Vinci, Black Coffee, Louis Vega & DJ
Kent and his releases have graced powerhouse labels Defected, Strictly Rhythms and Objektivity.

Born in Tel Aviv, UPZ moved to Nairobi, Kenya with his family at the age of fve and two years later relocated to South
Africa. After graduating from WITS, he decided to pursue his passion for music upon moving back to Tel Aviv, Israel.
Africa, however, continuously beckoned and UPZ returned to SA in 2014 & currently resides in Johannesburg.
“This album has been over two years in the making” says UPZ of Drop It “ I feel truly happy with the direction the album has
taken and was honored to have worked with some great artists, songwriters and vocalists in it’s formation.”
Drop It contains ten new tracks, some of which have already been charted nationwide on leading radio stations
(Sangoma’s Theme, Say What U Want) plus a bonus track, the new remix of Pure Surprise (2017 Sunrise Mix) currently on
high rotation on music channels, MTV base, Trace Urban and charted on multiple radio stations.

‘Drop It’ will be available via soWHAT Records on all digital platforms from October 27th, 2017 (itunes pre-order link).

Itunes Pre-order link

“Drop It” Tracklist:

(preview on soundcloud)
1. Disco Girl – UPZ feat Jocelyn Mathieu
2. Drop It – UPZ feat Thantaswa
3. Sangoma’s Theme – UPZ feat Lifford
4. A Dream Away – Sió & UPZ
5. Magic With You – UPZ feat Chris Rouse
6. Take Me Away – UPZ feat Shantéh
7.And In Time – BlackwHole & Obi Sanaa (co-prod UPZ)
8. Village Ghetto Style – UPZ feat Chris Rouse
9. Unbreakable – UPZ feat Pearl
10. Say What U Want (Afro Mix) – UPZ feat Mariechan & Proverb
11. Pure Surprise (Sunrise Mix) – UPZ feat DKP


soWHAT Records is boutique label based in Johannesburg and established 2007. The label has released productions and
singles from leading SA producers like Black Coffee, Black Motion, UPZ, Cuebur, BlackwHole and Qness and have featured
vocalists such as Maleh, Proverb, Harrison Crump and Kafele (USA). Stand out singles include Pure Surprise by UPZ,
Uzongilinda by Qness, Endless Motion by Dahl Hates Disco, Believing by UPZ and Afrika Wo-man by Black Motion & UPZ and
Love is Not For Hire by Avi Elman (Black Coffee Rmx) and have licensed to labels Soul Candi, Sheer, Defected, Strictly Rhythm,
Objektivity (Dennis Ferrefer) and more!


soWHAT on Social Media


UPZ on Social Media


Press, Radio & TV interviews: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *